Re:amaze lets you initiate video calls with customers directly from a chat conversation, making it easier to provide live guidance for complex issues or personalized shopping experiences for VIP customers. Video Calls are only available on the Plus Plan.
Start a video call
The Start Video Call button appears above the reply box inside a chat conversation. This button is only visible when the customer started the conversation through the Shoutbox or Lightbox chat widgets and is currently online. Video calls are not currently supported on mobile devices.
Selecting Start Video Call will prompt the customer to join. They will see a notification in the conversation that reads "We'd like to start a video call with you!" and will have the option to answer or decline. When a customer answers, they will be prompted to grant video and audio permissions before joining.
Once the video call has started, you will have the following options:
- Pause or turn off your video stream.
- Mute or disable your microphone.
- Minimize or maximize the call screen to write internal notes or reply to messages in the conversation.
All video calls have their duration recorded and added to the conversation as an event. If the customer declines the call, a missed call event will appear in the conversation.
Customer experience
When a video call is requested, the customer will see one of three notifications:
- A message in the conversation
- A Cue notification
- A notification in the Shoutbox
Roles and Permissions
By default, video calls are enabled for all staff members. To disable video calls for a specific staff member, navigate to Settings > Roles and Permissions, select the staff member's name, deselect Access Video Call, and select Save Role.
What went wrong? (Optional)