Upscope.io Co-browsing and Screensharing: How-To

Upscope is a screensharing platform designed to help businesses better assist and guide customers. Screensharing and co-browsing is seeing rapid adoption in customer service because it can offer your customers a connected and highly engaging experience.

The Upscope integration with Reamaze allows your agents to look at your customers' screen and understand the real problem right away, with one click. Once connected, you'll be able to guide the customer, click on onscreen items for them, and help them navigate through potential issues. You can easily integrate Upscope with Reamaze by pasting a unique JavaScript snippet underneath your existing Reamaze Shoutbox. There's nothing to install. Agents will need their personal Upscope logins however in order to access this screensharing/co-browsing capability.

Creating Your Upscope Account

To use Upscope's screensharing and co-browsing platform, you'll need to first create an Upscope account. We've partnered up with Upscope to provide you with a lifetime discount if you sign up through Reamaze.

Alt Text

Alt Text

Integrating Upscope

Once your account is verified, you can access your Upscope dashboard. Here you'll need to copy the unique JavaScript provided by Upscope and paste it into your website's or app's HTML template. The specific instructions provided by Upscope advises you to paste this snippet underneath your live chat snippet.

Alt Text

In our example here, we've pasted the Upscope JavaScript snippet underneath the Reamaze Shoutbox script, above the </head> tag.

Alt Text

After you have pasted the Upscope JavaScript snippet, we also recommend adding an additional attribute in order to give permission privileges to your customers before a screenshare is started. This attribute is referred to as requireAuthorizationForSession: true. See Upscope documentation here.

Alt Text

Copy the attribute above and paste it into the Upscope('init', {…}); function like so:

Alt Text

Testing Screenshare

When customers message you via the Shoutbox or Lightbox, the incoming message displayed within the Reamaze UI will now include a screensharing link. This is also accessible on Reamaze's mobile iOS/Android app or a mobile web browser.

Alt Text

Clicking on the screensharing link will open your Upscope account, request you to log in, and also send the customer a permission request to view their screen. It's important to let your agents know that they will each need their own Upscope account or have access to a shared Upscope account in order to start the screensharing exercise.

Alt Text

Once permissions have been granted by the customer, your agents will be able to screenshare and co-browse with the customer via Upscope's dedicated screensharing portal.

Alt Text

Alt Text